Hit and Run
Are you worried because you’ve been accused of a hit and run in Washington? Are you looking for support and answers on what to do next?
Hit and runs are serious offenses in Washington. These particular crimes can have severe consequences and must be taken seriously. Often, the courts, prosecutors and law enforcement are inflexible when it comes to a hit and run crime.
There are two types of hit and run charges in Washington. The first is "Hit and Run - Attended Vehicle." That means you are alleged to have struck a car with someone inside. The second type of hit and run is "Hit and Run - Unattended." A charge of this type means you are alleged to either have struck an unoccupied vehicle, or other property.
In Washington, a charge of "Hit and run - Attended Vehicle" is a gross misdemeanor. It is punishable by a maximum of one year in jail and a $5,000 fine. A charge of "Hit and run - Unattended" is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
If you are convicted of "Hit and Run -Attended", you also face a license suspension of one year, and will be required to carry SR-22 insurance.
Most likely, if you’ve been accused of a hit and run in the state of Washington, you feel anxiety and fear. Perhaps you've never been charged with a crime before. You may even feel a little angry due to the way you’ve been treated.
Finding the right attorney can help alleviate those feelings. An experienced attorney knows you do not want a criminal record, loss of your license, thousands of dollars in court fines, or the requirement of high risk insurance. The right attorney will fight on your behalf to prevent these things from happening.
Your first step after receiving your citation is to find a skilled attorney. Make sure that the attorney you talk to about your case is experienced in hit and run cases. Hiring an experienced attorney with a proven track record.
Consultation. The first step after contacting an attorney is having an initial consultation. Many attorneys provide consultation free of charge. During your first meeting, your attorney will review your case and determine the facts. While you are telling your story, an attorney will listen for any type of potential issue, what your concerns are, and begin fashioning your defense.
Hiring. After you have your consultation, you will need to make a decision on whether the attorney is the right one to defend you. When you do, you will need to sign a fee agreement and make initial payment on your case.
Representation. Once retained, your attorney will begin developing a strategy for your defense. They will attend all court hearings on your behalf, request a copy of the evidence in your case, talk to witnesses and engage in other investigation. Often, an experienced attorney can negotiate with the prosecutor for a resolution that is not a criminal conviction.
Attorney Michael D. Sheehan is an experienced traffic law attorney. He not only understands hit and run laws in Washington and other traffic violations, he has a the track record to prove it. Mr. Sheehan is an expert on Washington traffic laws.
In over a decade, Mr. Sheehan has helped many clients defend against hit and run charges. He's not only an expert on Washington traffic laws, he's appeared in over fifty courts through the State. He knows the differences in each jurisdiction and has good working relationships with judges and prosecutors.
If you've been charged with hit and run, his is the type of experienced advocacy that you need to defend your case.
His practice is devoted to traffic offenses and is here to serve you. He is committed to you and your case from start until finish.
Facing a hit and run charge doesn't have to be scary. If you have an experienced attorney working hard on your side, your feelings of fear will subside. Contact Mr. Sheehan today to schedule a consultation.